Uncategorized

Painting: Fall preview Manhattan edition

Keough
Caitlin Keogh @ Bortolami Gallery

YES: Galleries are presenting a slew of good painting exhibitions this season. The most obvious trend seems to be the continued move away from abstraction toward representational approaches–with still life and figurative work dominating. Here’s a list of the shows I’m looking forward to seeing, with links in case readers can’t get to the galleries. This year I covered recommended Brooklyn (and some Queens) exhibitions in a separate post, which can be found here. See you at the openings on the LES tonight.

Upper East Side

Alexandre Gallery / 724 Fifth Ave, 4th Floor� / alexandregallery.com
Gregory Amenoff Gregory Amenoff: New Paintings /Sep 15 – Oct 29, 2016 Reception: Thu Sep 15 6pm�-�8pm

Marian Goodman Gallery / 24 West 57th Street� / +12129777160 / mariangoodman.com
Julie Mehretu / Sep 22 – Oct 29, 2016 Reception: Thu Sep 22 6pm – 8pm

Fagerskiold
Paul F�gerski�ld @ Peter Blum

Peter Blum Gallery /20 West 57th Street� / peterblumgallery.com
Paul F�gerski�ld OBAFGKM / Sep 9 – Oct 22, 2016 Reception: Fri Sep 9 6pm�-�8pm

Lassnig
Maria Lassnig @ Petzel

Petzel Gallery / 35 East 67th Street� / petzel.com
Maria Lassnig Woman Power: Maria Lassnig in New York 1968-1980 / Sep 9 – Oct 29, 2016 Reception: Fri Sep 9 6pm

Ginny Casey
Ginny Casey @ Half Gallery

Half Gallery / 43 East 78th Street� /� halfgallery.com
Ginny Casey Play Things / Sep 7 – Oct 7, 2016 Reception: Wed Sep 7 6pm�-�8pm

Chelsea

David Zwirner/ 525 & 533 West 19th Street� /davidzwirner.com
Oscar Murillo through patches of corn, wheat and mud / Sep 14 – Oct 22, 2016 Reception: Wed Sep 14 6pm�-�8pm

Bortolami Gallery / 520 West 20th Street� /� bortolamigallery.com
Caitlin Keogh Loose Ankles / Sep 8 – Oct 29, 2016 Reception: Thu Sep 8 6pm�-�8pm

JennieJones
Jennie C. Jones @ Sikkema Jenkins

Sikkema Jenkins & Co. / 530 West 22nd Street� / / sikkemajenkinsco.com
Jennie C. Jones Amplitude / Sep 8 – Oct 8, 2016 Reception: Thu Sep 8 6pm

Kent Fine Art / 210 11th Avenue, 2nd Floor� / www.kentfineart.net
Kyle Staver Kyle Staver / Sep 9 – Oct 22, 2016 Reception: Thu Sep 8 6am�-�8pm

Andrea Rosen Gallery 525 West 24th Street� / andrearosengallery.com
Andrea Zittel / Sep 9 – Oct 8, 2016

Louden
Sharon Louden @ Morgan Lehman

Morgan Lehman Gallery /534 West 24th / morganlehmangallery.com
Sharon Louden Windows / Sep 8 – Oct 8, 2016 Reception: Thu Sep 8 6pm

Luhring Augustine / 531 West 24th Street (and Bushwick) / luhringaugustine.com
Jeff Elrod / Sep 10 – Oct 22, 2016 Reception: Fri Sep 9 6pm

Lyons Wier Gallery / 542 West 24th Street� / lyonswiergallery.com
Alex Couwenberg Left at 69’s / Sep 8 – Oct 8, 2016 Reception: Thu Sep 8 6pm

soriano
Peter Soriano @ Lennon, Weinberg

Lennon, Weinberg, Inc. /514 West 25th Street� / lennonweinberg.com
Peter Soriano 3 murals and related drawings /Sep 8 – Oct 22, 2016 Reception: Thu Sep 8 6pm�-�8pm

Cheim & Read/ 547 West 25th Street� / www.cheimread.com
Lynda Benglis New Work / Sep 8 – Oct 22, 2016

Greene Naftali Gallery / 508 West 26th Street, 8th Floor� /� www.greenenaftaligallery.com
G�nther F�rg Works on Paper: 1976 – 2008 / Sep 9 – Oct 8, 2016

Schaechter
My talented PAFA colleague Judith Schaechter @ Claire Oliver

Claire Oliver / 513 West 26th Street� / claireoliver.com
Judith Schaechter The Life Ecstatic / Sep 8 – Oct 15, 2016

Mitchell-Innes & Nash | Chelsea / 534 West 26th Street� / miandn.com
Jessica Stockholder The Guests All Crowded Into the Dining Room / Aug 25 – Oct 1, 2016

Alexander Gray Associates / 510 West 26th Street� / alexandergray.com
Joan Semmel New Work / Sep 8 – Oct 15, 2016 Reception: Thu Sep 8 6pm�-�8pm

Gendel
Jackie Gendel @ Thomas Erben

Thomas Erben Gallery /526 West 26th Street, Floor 4� / thomaserben.com
Jackie Gendel /Sep 8 – Oct 29, 2016 Reception: Thu Sep 8 6pm�-�8pm

gardner
Jonathan Gardner @ Casey Kaplan

Casey Kaplan / 121 West 27th Street� / caseykaplangallery.com
Jonathan Gardner / Sep 8 – Oct 22, 2016 Reception: Thu Sep 8 6pm�-�8pm

The Painting Center /547 West 27th Street, Suite 500� / thepaintingcenter.org
Solos: Barbara Laube, Sue Post, Louisa Waber / Sep 6 – Oct 1, 2016 Reception: Thu Sep 8 6pm�-�8pm

Lower East Side

Sebastian Vallejo
Sebastian Vallejo @ Cuevas Tilleard

Cuevas Tilleard / 142 Henry Street / cuevastilleard.com
Sebastian Vallejo In Search of Asphodels / Sep 7 – Oct 9, 2016 Reception: Wed Sep 7 6pm

Joyce Robins
Joyce Robins @ 33 Orchard, in collaboration with Theodore:Art

Theodore:Art and 33 Orchard / 33 Orchard Street / theodoreart.com
Joyce Robins
Clay and Paint / Sep 15 – Oct 23, 2016 Reception: Thu Sep 15 6pm�-�8pm

Miguel Abreu Gallery / 88 Eldridge Street, 4th Floor� / miguelabreugallery.com
Florian Pumh�sl No One’s Voice / Sep 11 – Oct 23, 2016 Reception: Sun Sep 11 6pm�-�8pm / Event: Florian Pumh�sl and Yve-Alain Bois in Conversation Thursday, September 15, 7pm

Denny Gallery / 261 Broome Street� / dennygallery.com
Jessie Edelman Stills from �The End of Summer� / Sep 10 – Oct 16, 2016 Reception: Sat Sep 10 6pm

Joe Fyfe
Joe Fyfe @ Nathalie Karg.

Nathalie Karg / 291 Grand Street, 4th Floor� / nathaliekarg.com
Joe Fyfe Kiss the Sky / Sep 14 – Oct 23, 2016 Reception: Wed Sep 14 6pm�-�8pm

Elizabeth McIntosh
Elizabeth McIntosh @ CANADA

CANADA / 333 & 331 Broome Street� / canadanewyork.com
Elizabeth McIntosh Bricks are Heavy / Sep 8 – Oct 16, 2016 Reception: Thu Sep 8 6pm�-�8pm

McKenzie Fine Art Inc. /55 Orchard Street� / mckenziefineart.com
Gary Petersen Back There Behind the Sun / Sep 7 – Oct 16, 2016 Reception: Wed Sep 7 6pm

LMAKgallery / 298 Grand Street� / www.lmakgallery.com
Matthew Abbott No Horizon Insight / Sep 7 – Oct 16, 2016 Reception: Wed Sep 7 6pm

Magnolia Laurie
Magnolia Laurie @ frosch & portmann

frosch&portmann / 53 Stanton Street� / froschportmann.com
Magnolia Laurie GROUND SHIFT / Sep 7 – Oct 16, 2016 Reception: Wed Sep 7 6pm�-�8pm

Betty Cuningham / 15 Rivington Street / www.bettycuninghamgallery.com

Beverly McIver Objects of Affection / Sep 07 to Oct 15, 2016 Reception: Wed Sep 7, 6pm

Common Room
One of my gas grill paintings is hanging in Bj�rn Meyer-Ebrecht’s “Common Room,” an installation at Lesley Heller in which a room full of art becomes a sculpture. Also on view: Elisabeth Condon Bird and Flower.

Lesley Heller Workspace / 54 Orchard Street� / lesleyheller.com
“Common Room,” curated by Bj�rn Meyer-Ebrecht with William Eric Brown, Sharon Butler, Paul Gagner, Jule Korneffel, Esperanza Mayobre, David McBride, Adam Parker Smith, Jenny Vogel / Sep 7 – Oct 16, 2016 Reception: Wed Sep 7 6pm / Also on view: Elisabeth Condon Bird and Flower / Sep 7 – Oct 16, 2016 Reception: Wed Sep 7 6pm

Heather Guertin
Heather Guertin @ Brennan & Griffin

Brennan & Griffin /� 122 Norfolk Street / www.brennangriffin.com
Heather Guertin Worm Turns Atmosphere / Sep 7 – Oct 9, 2016

Brickhouse
Farrell Brickhouse @ The Lodge Gallery

The Lodge Gallery / 131 Chrystie Street� / thelodgegallery.com Lizbeth Mitty, Farrell Brickhouse With the Thickness /Sep 7 – Oct 9, 2016 Reception: Wed Sep 7 7pm�-�9pm

11R / 195 Chrystie Street� /� 11rgallery.com / Aiko Hachisuka, Tschabalala Self, Caroline Wells Chandler / Sep 7 – Oct 9, 2016 Reception: Wed Sep 7 6pm

Sarah Walker
Sarah Walker @ Pierogi

Pierogi /155 Suffolk St� /� pierogi2000.com
Sarah Walker Space Machines / Sep 11 – Oct 9, 2016 Reception: Sun Sep 11 6pm�-�8pm

Sperone Westwater / 257 Bowery� / speronewestwater.com
Bruce Nauman Contrapposto Studies, i through vii, 2015/2016 / Sep 10 – Oct 29, 2016

Elsewhere

Jeffrey Deitch / 18 Wooster Street, Soho� / deitch.com
Walter Robinson A Retrospective /Sep 17 – Oct 22, 2016 Reception: Sat Sep 17 6pm�-�8pm

Molly Crabapple
Molly Crabapple @ Postmasters

Postmasters / 54 Franklin Street, Tribeca� /postmastersart.com
Tue – Sat 11am to 6pm, Thu 11am to 8pm
Molly Crabapple Annotated Muses / Sep 10 – Oct 15, 2016

Events:
David Shrigley speaks on his work at The New School, 12th Street Auditorium / 66 West 12th Street / Wed Sep 7, 6:30pm / Tickets $10; FREE to all students, The New School faculty, and alumni with valid ID

——-

For complete, unselected exhibition listings, go to ArtForum artguide or The List at artcritical. We also recommend phone app gallery guides New York Art Beat and See Saw.

Related posts:
(Mostly) painting: Fall preview in Brooklyn (and Queens) (2016)

 

3 Comments

  1. FASCINATING COLLECTION OF SOME GREAT ‘FRESH-LOOKS’ AND EXCITING APPROACHES……HOPE
    TO
    SEE
    MORE…………………..

  2. Thank you so much for including The Painting Center!

  3. You didn’t mention Allison Schulnik’s show that opens tomorrow.
    http://ziehersmith.com/exhibition/146/hoof-ii

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

*